Visit our New Zealand website for more relevant pricing, content and promotions.
About us

Virgin Blue Expands Delta Codeshare


The Virgin Blue group of airlines today announced the expansion of its codeshare agreement with Delta Air Lines to include more destinations in the United States and within Australia and New Zealand.

The expansion of the agreement will allow V Australia guests to connect seamlessly from Los Angeles to four new destinations in the United States: San Francisco, Las Vegas, Atlanta and Detroit.

In addition, Delta will now code on flights between Sydney and other popular destinations in Australia and New Zealand including Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Auckland and Christchurch.

Virgin Blue Group Executive of Corporate Advisory Merren McArthur said: “Virgin Blue has worked successfully with Delta for three years in an interline and codeshare capacity and today’s announcement is a natural next step forward in our relationship. It has always been our plan to expand the codeshare.

“We know that connectivity within the US is extremely important to Australian travellers, with around 60% of guests travelling on to other destinations following their arrival in the US. Today’s announcement means travellers can connect seamlessly to key leisure and business hubs and earn more frequent flyer points in the process.

“It will also bring more traffic from the US onto the Virgin Blue domestic network and help promote key tourist destinations within Australia and New Zealand.

Virgin Blue and Delta are currently awaiting a decision from the US Department of Transportation on their application for antitrust immunity.

“We have submitted all the information requested by the US Department of Transportation and we hope to hear the outcome in the next few months”, Ms McArthur said.

The expanded codeshare agreement will mean V Australia now codes on flights from Los Angeles to:

-  New York  -  Atlanta  -  Orlando

-  San Francisco  -  Detroit  -  Las Vegas

Delta will now code on flights from Sydney to:

-  Brisbane  -  Canberra  -  Adelaide

-  Melbourne  -  Auckland 

-  Perth  -  Christchurch